Hi there. I liked your post on staying safe when posting pictures, but perhaps one more point to highlight is removing the metadata from your photos before posting, which can include all sorts of identifying information such as location it was taken.

Very good point, thanks for that! 

For those who don’t know a photo can have stuff buried in it which could be quite personal, such as the name of the device it’s taken on, where it’s been stored, or even as the OP said, the exact location it was taken!

I personally think it’s best to turn off the function of saving where a photo was taken, it’s so easily misused by someone for little benefit. Beyond that there are apps that do it for you, so search for those. And on windows you can go into a photo’s details and choose to make a copy with all metadata wiped.

Leave a Reply